Breaking Ground | Masterworks Series

Monday, January 13, 2020 @ 7:30pm
Palm Beach Symphony

The Symphony’s second masterworks concert beautifully blends Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite, Mozart’s “Jupiter,” and Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto , featuring guest soloist Chee-Yun (violin) with newer music from Augusta Read Thomas, who caught the attention of Gerard Schwarz with her original composition, “A Plea for Peace,” an evocative work that envisions the world’s first nuclear reaction. 

Schwarz led the Eastern Music Festival Orchestra in the 2018 world premiere of this bold and inspiring piece by one of the world’s most prominent living composers and will introduce the work to South Florida audiences for the first time in the Symphony’s January 2020 masterworks as part of this ground-breaking repertoire. 


Presented by Palm Beach Symphony


Copland (1900 - 1990)

Appalachian Spring Suite

Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Violin Concerto in E Minor

Augusta Read Thomas (1964 – Present)

Plea for Peace

Mozart (1756 – 1791)

Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter)


Gerard Schwarz


Chee-Yun (violin)

Schedule & Tickets

20-100 · Call 561-281-0145

Monday, January 13, 2020 @ 7:30pm · add to calendar 2020-01-13 19:30:00 2020-01-13 22:30:00 America/New_York Breaking Ground | Masterworks Series Palm Beach Symphony, 400 Hibiscus Street, Suite 100, West Palm Beach, FL, 33401

Tickets · More Info

Find Us

Palm Beach Symphony

400 Hibiscus Street
Suite 100
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
(561) 655-2657 phone

Visit official website
Add to favorites
Update this page

Update this event

If you have an organization profile, please log in for quicker processing.

Your full name (required)

Your email address (required)

Your organization (if applicable)

Your phone number (required)

Internet Address:

Changes (required)
What changes do you recommend we make to this page? Please be specific, providing correct dates, spelling, etc.

Cultural Council of Palm Beach County - 40th anniversary Discover The Palm Beaches Palm Beach County Florida seal